Beginner’s Guide to Chakra Healing

Beginner’s Guide to Chakra Healing

Energy rules the entire universe, and humans are no exception. In fact, there are specific centers of energy within each individual to achieve the perfect balance between body, mind, and spirit. These are called the 7 chakras. Picture them like spinning vortexes of energy powering your everyday life. Now, you might be wondering:

What are the 7 Chakras?

Simply put, chakras are the energy within your body. They regulate all parts of your bodily system, influencing everything from emotional processing to health and wellness. There are a total of 7 chakras: the root chakra, the sacral chakra, the solar plexus chakra, the heart chakra, the throat chakra, the third eye chakra, and the crown chakra. By learning about the 7 chakras, you can become more aware of and in tune with the natural energies circulating through your body. This knowledge is vital to creating the perfect balance between your physical, emotional, and spiritual energies, allowing for a positive and harmonious overall well-being.

Below we’ve listed each of the 7 chakras along with their traditional Sanskrit name, their purpose, and the best crystals for healing and empowering each chakra. 

Root Chakra- Muladhara


root chakraThe first chakra is the root chakra. It is located at the base of your spine and extends up to your lower stomach. The color associated with this chakra is red. The root chakra’s role is to connect you with the Earth, which is also referred to as grounding. This chakra provides a sense of security and survival. When your root chakra is balanced you will feel a sense of peace when thinking of certain aspects of your life, like finances, shelter, and safety. An unbalanced root chakra will create fear and anxiety because it’s based on our need to survive. Some of the best crystals to balance your root chakra include smoky quartz, garnet, obsidian, and tourmaline. 

Sacral Chakra- Svadhishana 

sacral chakraThe second chakra is the sacral chakra. It is located right below the belly button and extends to the center of your abdomen. The color associated with this chakra is orange. The sacral chakra is all about the creative forces inside of you. If your sacral chakra is balanced you will relish in all the wonderful things life has to offer, without overdoing them. On the other hand, if your sacral chakra is unbalanced one of two things can happen. You can either slip into a depression with a lack of passion and creativity, or you can find yourself enjoying things that aren’t good or healthy for you, like an addiction. Some of the best crystals to balance your sacral chakra include tiger’s eye, carnelian, and pyrite. Energizing your sacral chakra is really quite simple- enjoy your life! Create a fun piece of art, make love to your significant other, listen to your favorite music- appreciate all the incredible gifts, big and small, this life has provided you.  

Solar Plexus Chakra- Manipura

solar plexus chakraThe third chakra is the solar plexus chakra. It is located in the center of your abdomen and extends up to the center of your chest. The color associated with this chakra is yellow. The solar plexus chakra is the birth place of your identity and self-confidence. You’ve probably heard this referred to as your “gut.” A balanced solar plexus chakra provides feelings of wisdom and power. An unbalanced solar plexus chakra brings about feelings of insecurity, timidity, and indecisiveness. The best way to energize this chakra is by focusing on your talents, abilities, and successes. Try creating your own personal affirmations to repeat while meditating with some citrine, peridot, or labradorite.

Heart Chakra- Anahata

heart chakraThe fourth chakra is the heart chakra. It is located right over your heart, radiating down to your breastbone and up to your throat. The color associated with this chakra is green. The heart chakra is the middle of all 7 chakras, meaning it connects the higher chakras to the lower chakras. The role of the heart chakra is to empower your love, compassion, and kindness. When your heart chakra is balanced you are able to feel love for yourself and others equally. An unbalanced heart chakra can cause you to feel one of two ways: completely drained from giving too much of yourself to other people, or lonely and heartbroken. The best way to energize your heart charka is to love yourself FIRST. Only then can you spread that compassion to others. Some of the best crystals to heal the heart chakra are rose quartz, rhodonite, and malachite.

Throat Chakra- Vishuddha

throat chakraThe fifth chakra is the throat chakra. It is located right in between your collar bone. The color associated with this chakra is blue. This chakra is your voice; it allows you to speak your truth with clarity. When your throat chakra is balanced, you will clearly communicate with love, kindness, and truth. An unbalanced throat chakra makes it very difficult to express your emotions and speak your truth. When balancing the throat chakra, always ask yourself these three questions: Is it true?; Is it necessary?; Is it kind? It may seem easier said than done, but all it takes is practice. If you need some encouragement, try harnessing the energies from lapis lazuli, aquamarine, or sodalite.

Third Eye Chakra- Ajna

third eye chakraThe sixth chakra is the third eye chakra. It is located directly in between your eyebrows. The color associated with this chakra is indigo. The role of the third eye chakra is to open up your mind to things beyond the physical world. Intuition and extrasensory perception come from the third eye. A balanced third eye chakra is truly a beautiful thing, and is the ultimate achievement on the path to enlightenment. You will feel equally in tune with the physical and material worlds all at the same time, without allowing it to consume your reality. Most people have an unbalanced third eye, meaning they’ve closed off their third eye and feel disconnected from spiritual experiences. The best way to connect with your third eye chakra is meditation. Grab some amethyst, quartz, or fluorite and simply sit. Breath. Listen to your body connecting to your spirit and recognize how that feels.

Crown Chakra- Sahaswara

crown chakraThe last chakra is the crown chakra. It is located at the top of your head. The color associated with this chakra is violet. The crown chakra is the energy that connects you to the universe. It is pure consciousness energy. Your crown chakra is simply the fruition of all your work balancing your six other chakras. This brings you happiness, good health, and wisdom.  The crown chakra is the sum of the human experience. Many people may feel close to achieving “nirvana,” while others are simply on their way or haven’t yet started. Regardless of where you are on your journey, practicing spiritual development is the best way to bring you closer to the consciousness energy.

Chakra Healing San Diego

Chakra healing is one of the most relaxing and awakening forms of meditation. Many people believe the chakras are religious symbols, but in fact, they don’t belong to any specific religion. While the chakras hold strong values in Hinduism and Buddhism, all who believe are welcome to practice.

Looking for new ways to open and balance your 7 chakras? All of our Scented Gems products are inspired by magical healing crystals that have different benefits for each of the chakras. In fact, most of our products even come with your own healing crystal embedded inside! Light one of our crystal candles and meditate surrounded by the invigorating scent and energy from the crystal within. Pick up some of our crystal bath bombs or bath salts, and bathe in the soothing aroma while feeling the energies from the crystal. There’s no “right” way to open your energy centers. Just relax and enjoy!

Continue reading our next blog post on: Crystal Candles For Aromatherapy

Back to blog